Don’t Hate Me Because I’m Efficient

February 1, 2011

Uncategorized

Tree-hugger. Environmentalist. Hippie. Dirt-worshiper. Environmentalist. Eco-freak.

I’ve heard them all before – sometimes even partnered with one another in the same sentence (that’s when you know someone is totally pissed). I will proudly announce that I am not any of these. I am -efficient-. In fact, I pretty much eat, sleep, and breathe energy efficiency. I’m passionate about it for many reasons that I’ll get to at a later date; the biggest reason is that saving energy saves money… which, in this economy, saves businesses and jobs. I’ll even go so far as to say it saves lives in an indirect way. The trickle-down effect of cutting energy costs is not only significant but hugely essential in the business sector.

I currently work as an energy adviser to commercial and industrial utility customers – consulting on energy efficiency and conservation opportunities and assisting in securing financial incentives for them to launch amazing energy-saving projects in their facilities. In a nutshell, I get paid to tell companies how to save energy, save MAJOR cash, and make their facilities work smarter, not harder. And I get to give them money to do all that stuff! It’s pretty much the sweetest job ever.

In an average work day, I am exposed to some great companies with innovative ideas on saving energy as well as some of the most cutting edge energy efficient technology available to the market. I want to share this with you, dear readers. I also want to share with you my insights into how to break into this truly booming industry through my “Green-Collar Tip of the Week” (possibly to be re-named at a later date). I pretty much just want to talk shop, share my experiences/knowledge, and have a little fun with it.

Are you game? Good. Let’s do this.

Connect with Madam Energy

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

10 Comments on “Don’t Hate Me Because I’m Efficient”

  1. Aurian Says:

    Fantastic first post, Megan! Good job on starting.

    I’m an energy worker by day and an efficiency chaser by night, so I’m looking forward to hearing what you have to say.

    Reply

  2. Rebecca Says:

    There need to be more blogs on issues like this. This past weekend I was talking to someone about clean energy and wished I was able to make stronger arguments! I’m pumped to follow your blog.

    Reply

    • Megan Atkinson Says:

      Rebecca, I’m glad to hear you’re stoked about my little trial at blogging, here! I’m working on a lot of info-packed blog ideas at the moment and I’ll be citing a lot of other great blogs, articles, studies, etc that can boost your argument ammo. 🙂

      Reply

  3. jesse Says:

    Hi Megan,

    Here in South America energy efficiency is a big deal in households. Almost everyone unplugs everything from microwaves to televisions when not in use. Also, hot water heaters are the on demand kind. The pilot light is either battery operated so only ignites when in use, or the gas to the light is turn off when not in use. Could you imagine us doing this in the US?

    Reply

    • Megan Atkinson Says:

      Jesse,

      South America has got it going on! On demand water heaters are gaining momentum here in the US which is exciting. Unfortunately, our building and energy codes are lacking so a lot of the on demand systems are sized and designed improperly causing a lot of unhappy customers which hinders the popularity of such a great technology.

      As far as they unplugging goes: a new “craze” in the home energy arena is the intelligent surge protector. They are just like a traditional surge protector but they have sensors in them to shut down all things plugged into it when the master device is turned off. For example, if you have a TV, DVD player, and a game console plugged into the intelligent surge protector, it can sense when there is no electricity being fed to the TV when it’s off… so it turns off all power to the DVD and game console. And it goes beyond the ‘off’ status to cut off all energy from entering the device just as if it were unplugged – no “phantom load” as it is called. It’s really pretty neat. Not to endorse a specific brand, but Smart Strip is one brand you can Google to get more information if you’re interested.

      Reply

  4. Mark W. Says:

    Megan, look forward to your future blog posts in your field of energy efficiency. I hope to see you post your commercial and industrial experiences as well as those related to home application.

    Reply

  5. Ambassador Bruny Says:

    Madame Energy:
    Thanks for bringing this blog into the world. I look forward to hearing more about your adventures and tips on saving energy.

    Your Ambassador,
    Mike Bruny

    Reply

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My Energy Job: The Importance of Relationship Building | Don't Hate Me Because I'm Efficient - March 15, 2011

    […] or maybe I just need more friends? Either way, days like today are just another reminder how freakin’ awesome my job is and how much I love doing what I […]

Leave a Reply

