Happy Mother’s Day: My Mom Has No Idea What I Do For a Living

May 8, 2011

Career

Even though she doesn’t know what a CFL is (in case you’re in the same boat, that’s a compact fluorescent light bulb – “the curly cue kind that save energy”, as she calls them), my mom has always been the biggest fan of my energy career.

My mom has no idea what I do. She knows I give money away to companies who want to save energy but beyond that, she’s clueless. When I call her up raving about a big new project of mine, talking about air handlers and variable frequency drives, I might as well be speaking German. I’ve even heard her say, “She does all that ‘go green’ energy stuff,” when her friends ask what I do for a living.

Maybe it’s part of the mom job description, but despite being *completely* in the dark about what I actually do, she will spew her motherly pride to anyone and everyone that will listen.

Since I can remember, she’s told people about how even when I was a baby, she knew I was “going to be somebody important” in the world. Despite all my mix-ups, total flops, and collosal mess-ups, she never once lost faith in my potential to be great.

While my dad pushed me to find a career that I love, my mom began telling me at a very young age that I could do absolutely anything I wanted to do so long as I put my mind to it and worked hard to achieve it. She is responsible for my “have-no-fear, balls-to-the-wall, go-getter” attitude. She taught me to dream big and chase those dreams to the end of the earth.

So this Mother’s Day, I want to tell my mother thank you. Thank you, mom, for setting the bar high and pushing me to jump for it. Thank you for teaching me that nothing is outside my reach. Thank you for putting up with my incessant babbling about my career even when you have no idea what I’m talking about. And thank you, most of all, for always being my biggest fan.

What are you thanking your mom for on Mother’s Day this year?

Connect with Madam Energy

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “Happy Mother’s Day: My Mom Has No Idea What I Do For a Living”

  1. Ben Donahower Says:

    I’m in the same boat just a different job! My mom doesn’t really know what I do but surely I’m the best possible person to do it! Mothers are amazing things and I’m glad that I have mine.

    Reply

  2. Noel Says:

    Great post, Megan! I know your mom loved this! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

